Visas for GPs is an initiative of the Australian Government administered by the Consortium of Rural Workforce Agencies

Hospital Based Employees

Streamlined processing will be provided to State and Territory Government employer nominated hospital-based positions with automatic issuing of the Health Workforce Certificate or Health Workforce Exemption Certificate.

The majority of applications for automatic certification will be processed within 2 business days.

Health Workforce Certificates and Health Workforce Exemption Certificates are valid for a period of 6 months from the date of issue. Health Workforce Certificates can be re-issued once only for a further 6 months.

To obtain position certification employers need to apply using the button provided above.

Or to find out more, please contact the Visas for GPs team.

Hospital Employers

Health Workforce Exemption Certificate

From 16 December 2020, a Health Workforce Exemption Certificate (HWEC) will be required by hospital employers when nominating overseas doctors for temporary residency for one of the following ES visas:

  • Subclass 482 Temporary Skills Shortage
  • Subclass 494 Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional (Provisional)

A HWEC is valid for 12 months and can be used repeatedly within the 12 month validity period to nominate all overseas doctors for these temporary and provisional employer sponsored visas. For each occupation category below, a separate HWEC application is required for each of the following:

  • 253111 General Medical Practitioner
  • 253112 Resident Medical Officer
  • 253999 Medical Practitioner not elsewhere classified

Any nominations submitted to the Department of Home Affairs for either of the visa subclasses identified above after 16 December 2020 will require a HWEC.

Health Workforce Certificate

A single use Health Workforce Certificate is still required by hospital employers when nominating doctors for permanent residency for the permanent Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) for one of the following ES visas:

  • Subclass 186 Employer Nomination Scheme
  • Subclass 187 Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme